News Feature

Deer Isle
Originally published in Island Ad-Vantages, June 21, 2012
DIS Spring sports awards handed out

DISHS Sports Archive
Click here to see the full DISHS Sports Archive.

by Jack Scott

The spring sports awards were just handed out. Softball coach Terry Siebert handed out the following awards: Janelle Ciomei got the Defensive Award, Highest On Base Average Award (.585), and Slugging Award; Chelsea Brown got the Defensive Award and Highest Batting Average Award (.553); Michala Brown got the Defensive Award; Amber Jones got Most RBI’s Award (32); Sydney Ouzts got Pitching Award - 500 Strikeouts; Katie Haskell got Coaches Award; Abby Knowlton got Coaches Award, and Morgan Shepard got Coaches Award.

Sydney Ouzts made the PVC All Star First Team as pitcher and also was the PVC Class C/D Player of the Year. Chelsea Brown, Moriah Nutter, Janelle Ciomei, and Amber Jones each made the PVC Class D All Star Team.

Baseball coach Darren Eaton handed out the following awards: Nathan Davis got the Defensive Award; Joe Condon got the Batting Award; Sam Grindle got the Pitching Award, Curtis Farrin got the “Rookie of the Year”; Hayden Ciomei and Kyle Seile each got the Stephen McDonald Award; and Jake Starky and Nick Trundy each got the Coaches Award for Leadership. Sam Grindle and Connor Morey each got the Jeffrey B Fowler Memorial Sportsmanship Award for outstanding ability, team leadership, and general sportsmanship.

Sam Grindle, Joe Condon, and Nathan Davis each made the PVC Class D All Star Team.

Tennis Coach Cindi Heanssler gave out the following awards: Esther Adams got Top Singles player; Douglass Heanssler and Andrew Turner each got Top Doubles Team Award; Megan Weed got Most Improved Player, and Ole Bartos got Most Season Wins.