News Feature

Deer Isle
Originally published in Island Ad-Vantages, November 1, 2012
Island Nursing Home receives Quality Award

Beth McKay of Island Nursing Home

Mary Jane Richards, left, of the Maine Health Care Association presented the Quality Care Award to Beth McKay of Island Nursing Home during a ceremony in Augusta.

Photo courtesy of Island Nursing Home and Care Center

At a ceremony held at the Augusta Civic Center in September, the Island Nursing Home was honored by the Maine Health Care Association as a recipient of a Quality Award given for performance excellence by providers of long-term care services, according to a news release.

The nursing home’s administrator, Marc Plourde, and other frontline staff traveled to Augusta to receive the honor.

Reporting to the Island Nursing Home board of directors at its annual meeting on October 16, Plourde said, “We can all be proud of the staff working at Island Nursing Home. This is an outstanding testimony to all of our employees.”

According to INH Administrative Assistant Beth McKay, the nursing home sent in close to two dozen pages of both text and photographs to help support its nomination for the award. “We sent information we thought was important, especially about the recent changes in care and in culture that have happened” at the facility, she said.

The Maine Health Care Association’s Quality Award is the latest honor bestowed on the Island Nursing Home, a nonprofit organization that provides nursing care, residential care and adult day care for the island and Blue Hill Peninsula. For the past five years, INH has received a five-star rating from the Offices of Medicare and Medicaid, the highest quality rating that can be given to a long-term care facility, and has been given to only a handful of other facilities in Maine.

“Receiving the Quality Award is truly an honor, but I know that it reflects the quality of care that has been provided by our loyal and hardworking staff throughout our almost 30-year history,” said Pam Siewers, outgoing board president.

At the board’s annual meeting, Siewers was honored by fellow directors for her service as board president for six years. Special recognition was also extended to long-time board member Claudette Kydd who after nine years of board service is stepping down.

New board president Deborah DeWitt expressed gratitude to both women, saying, “Claudette and Pam exemplify the dedication of our directors and many wonderful volunteers.” DeWitt also welcomed two new additions to the board, Kathleen Osborn and Deborah Cummins, both of Deer Isle.